This page contains text information and online tutorials to help you find publications by staff and students of the University of Newcastle.
What is an author affiliation search?
This search allows you to find publications based on the institution the author is associated with. In our case we would search for anyone affiliated (or associated) with the University of Newcastle.
This will find articles and papers by academic staff, general staff, postgraduate students and anyone who has given the University as their Institution - affiliates, conjoints, adjunct professors, etc.
What is a database?
The databases are online indexes or abstracts - that is they are tools which list articles in major publications. Some databases also index conference proceedings or book chapters. You can search by almost any field in the records. Typical fields are:
Many databases are full text and you will find the article with the record. If the article isn't in the database you are using, do a Journal Title search on Newcat to see if we hold it either in print or online from another supplier.
How do I find the databases?
If you already know the databases you want to search, go directly to them from our library home pages - http://www.newcastle.edu.aulibrary/database/a-z-index.html
If you don't know which databases might be useful or you want to check for others, see the database page of our Subject Resources (also available from the Library Home Page) - http://www.newcastle.edu.au/library/subject/
On these pages, the relevant databases are grouped according to the discipline area and are linked from that page. So you can connect directly to the database from that page.
Searching for authors and their publications
Finding Publications If you want to find articles and conference papers by staff, students and affiliates of the University of Newcastle, you can search the databases in the following ways:
Author Affiliated search - some databases allow you to search by author affiliation, (the institution the author is affiliated with). This is the most satisfactory search, especially if the database lists the affiliations of more than simply the main author. Databases which allow this search are: Web of Science; IOP; CSA (Pollution Abstracts, ASFA, DAAI, LLBA, Water Resources Abstracts, Sociological Abstracts); Physical Review Online Archive; Wiley Interscience.
Author affiliated tutorials - ISI Web of Science, CSA Pollution, Wiley Interscience
Using general search boxes - Some databases will find author affiliations through a general or 'Anywhere' search. Examples of these are: Oxford Journals; Ingenta; see Ingenta, or Oxford
Institution search - Some databases allow you to search by Institution. Whilst this is useful, it will only retrieve articles where the University of Newcastle is the primary institution and will not retrieve articles written by our staff or students engaged in research where another institution has primary responsibility for the research.
Databases which allow this search are: Ovid (Biological Abstracts, Medline, PsycInfo). see Institution.
Author search - All databases will allow you to search by individual author, so you can check the publications of any given author. However, remember that you may need to check several databases to get a reasonable collection of any author's publications in a given year. See Author
| Select your Faculty for more information | |
|---|---|
|
Below you will find information on how to search for affiliated authors in a range of databases. Select your Faculty link to view this information. Note: not all databases in your discipline areas will be listed here. Some databases will only allow author searches, and these will not be represented in the lists. For a comprehensive listing of all databases by discipline area, view the Subject Resources pages. |
|
|
Business and Law |
Education and Arts |
|
Engineering and the Built Environment |
Health |
|
Science and Information Technology
|
|