HomeUniversity ServicesLibraryLibrary Guides → Referencing and Style Guides

Referencing and Style Guides

What is a style manual? APA Style
Find style manuals in the Library Author-Date (Harvard, AGPS)
Online tutorial - referencing basics CBE
Chicago (or Turabian)
Endnote - bibliographic software; creates references in a wide range of styles MLA
Academic Integrity - Plagiarism resources Oxford
Advice on citing government publications Vancouver
Writing Guides - How to write Literature reviews - essays, bibliographies, etc British Standard
Copyright for students AGLC
Research postgraduate support  

 

 What is a style manual?

You need to reference your work (identify the source of any ideas, quotes, or material you have used). To do this, you must use a referencing style. There are many different styles and each has its own style manual.

What do style manuals do?

Style manuals list the rules on layout and font as well as referencing. They also include examples of how to format your intext references, or endnotes/ footnotes, and bibliography

 

There are many different styles of referencing. Use the style which your School or Faculty specifies.
Correct referencing helps you to avoid plagiarism.

 

What are the different versions about?

Style manuals are regularly updated - make sure that you use the same version of the style manual through a single assignment.

Be especially careful if you use online guides - you may be using the latest version of your style for printed material but the online guide you use may be for an earlier version of the style.

How does referencing work?

Click here for a tutorial on creating web citations. It will teach you many things about the referencing process. Ignore the information about the citation wizard, but read the rest as it is very good.

Back to top

 Are there copies in the Library?

The latest edition of some style manuals, together with the Library's call numbers are indicated below. Check NEWCAT for current status information.

Author-Date (AGPS, Harvard) Style
Style manual for authors, editors, and printers. 5th ed. Canberra: AGPS, 1994.
686.2252 STYL 1994

ACS
The ACS Style Guide: effective communication of scientific information. 3rd ed. New York: Oxford Unviersity Press, 2006
808.06654 ACCS 2006    (Ourimbah Library)


APA Style
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association. 5th ed. Washington: APA, 2001.
808.06615 PUBL 2001

CBE Style
Scientific style and format: the CBE manual for authors editors and publishers. 6th edition. Cambridge: Cambridge Unsiversity Press
R808.0666 SCIE 1994 (Ourimbah Library)

Chicago Style
The Chicago Manual of Style. 14th ed. Chicago : University of Chicago Press, 1993.
808.0270973 CHIC 1993

MLA Style
MLA style manual and guide to scholarly publishing. 2nd ed. New York : Modern Language Association of America, 1998.
808.027 GIBA 1998 (Auchmuty Library)

Oxford Style
The Oxford guide to style. Oxford: OUP. 2002.
Auchmuty Information Common

Turabian Style
A manual for writers of term papers, theses, and dissertations. 6th ed. Chicago : University of Chicago Press, 1996.
808.02 TURA 1996 (Copies in Auchmuty and Conservatorium Libraries)

Vancouver Style
1997. Uniform Requirements for Manuscripts Submitted to Biomedical Journals. JAMA 277(11): 927-934
S610.5/13 (Auchmuty Library and online via Core Biomedical Collection)

The Columbia guide to online style. New York: Columbia University Press, 1998
Auchmuty Information Common
This book assists with the following styles online: MLA and Chicago AND APA and CBE (Council of Biology Editors).

Also useful is:
Survivor's guide to technical writing. Mason, OH: South-Western. 2003
Auchmuty Information Common

Back to top


Below you will find links to information helping you to use the different kinds of referencing styles.


Referencing styles

 APA Style


APA - University of Newcastle.
Information on referencing printed material, electronic, videos etc. Also has good links to other sites.

APA Style - American Psychological Association's resource page

APA Electronic Reference Formats - recommended by the APA

How to use the APA manual - a quick guide to finding the right information quickly.

APA Referencing  - Curtin University's guide (PDF)

How to Cite Information From the Internet and the World Wide Web - A guide to APA style which lists the key processes in compiling an annotated bibliography produced by Cornell University Library

Documents to assist with APA style

We are indebted to Dr Mark Rubin for the following files which were written for his Psychology students.

Notes on APA style

Guidelines for Writing Style

Preparing your Report

Back to top

 Author Date (AGPS, Harvard) Style

Harvard style - University of Newcastle

Harvard Referencing - Hunter Institute TAFENSW

How to reference ABS statistics in Harvard style

Tutorial on Citing & Referencing using Harvard & Vancouver - from Monash

Referencing Internet Resources using Harvard - from University of Southern Queensland

Back to top

 CBE - Council of Biology Editors

CBE Citation guide - Ohio State University

CBE Scientific style - Columbia State University

CBE - McGill University - cursor down the page and look for CSE heading.

CBE - Bedford St. Martin's pages

Back to top

 Chicago (also called Turabian)

Chicago Manual of Style FAQ

Latrobe's Chicago style pages

Turabian - Monash's pages, based on guidelines from their Department of Theory of Art and Design.

Back to top

 MLA

Latrobe's MLA style guide pages

Bedford St Martin's pages

The Write Source pages

Back to top

 Oxford

University of Southern Queensland's Oxford Style guide

Oxford System - from Victoria University - scroll down the page to find the Oxford pdf.

Back to top

 Vancouver

Vancouver Style - University of Newcastle

Latrobe's Vancouver Style guide includes tutorials and links from Monash and Queensland

Monash's Vancouver tutorial

Back to top

 British Standard

Referencing pages - also contains information on Harvard

Back to top

 AGLC

AGLC is the referencing style used by staff and students of the University of Newcastle's School of Law.

AGLC - links to the pdf document. (167 pages)

Back to top

 Referencing tutorials and sites


Citation Guides for Internet Sources - includes APA, MLA, Chicago/Turabian

Online! A reference guide to using internet sources - covers MLA, APA, Harvard, CBE, Chicago and others.

Bibliographic Formats for Citing Electronic Information - covers the APA and MLA styles for citing electronic information

Back to top

 Advice on citing government publications

There are several sites which offer advice on citing government publications. Use these pages differently from the style guides - each page will be showing you a particular style, say APA or Harvard, but it will also be offering advice on what to use as an author, etc.

How can I use these pages?

Use them to find things like

- the author of a piece
- parts of a citation for a parliamentary publication
- parts of a citation for a non-parliamentary publication
- parliamentary debates

Basically you can use these sites to find out what parts you need to collect for your citation and then put it into the format of whichever citation style you are using.

Also remember that published style guides will offer help with this eg The Publication manual of the APA offers specific advice on referencing government papers etc
see section 4:16 pages 248-9; 256-7; 280-81; 279; section 7.01 pages 332;

Use the index at the back of your style guide to look up government to find more information.

Quote, Unquote from Leeds Metropolitan University contains information on citing UK government publications.

Brief Guide to Citing Government Publications (USA) - comprehensive but deals mainly with the American government system.

Back to top

Writing Guides

Online Writing Guide - from Illinois State University. A series of links to material to assist writers - essay writing guide, grammar guides, dictionaries and style guides, evaluating internet resources, etc.

Academic writing skills - hosted by University of New England it has tutorials from a range of Australian Universities.

 

 Literature Reviews

Remember: check to see if your School has information on how they want you to write the review. The following links are only suggestions and may conflict with your School's requirements.
Literature reviews for undergraduates - University of Newcastle

The literature review - a few tips on conducting it - from Toronto. Very clear and comprehensive.

Literature reviews - the Writing Center University of Wisconsin-Madison

Literature review FAQ - excellent pages from University of Queensland. Scroll down till you see the link to Literature Review. This is a very detailed and thorough coverage with excellent examples. It's worth working through all of it.

Selected links on how to write a literature review - a series of sites from around the world (including Australia!).

Information fluency - a simple not too wordy tutorial, mainly aimed at postgraduate

Back to top

 Postgraduate Research Support

These sites have been collected from a range of Universities in Australia to assist with common problems faced by Research students doing PhDs and Masters degrees.

Remember that pages from other institutions will not be able to help you with policies of the University of Newcastle nor can you use their databases to find articles. Contact your Faculty or School office or your supervisor for information specific to University of Newcastle students and the library home page for online resources you can use.

Research and Research training - University of Newcastle pages.

First thoughts to finished writing - University of Queensland pages. Extensive and comprehensive.

Thesis writing resources - University of Wollongong. Good overviews and also contains some subject specific examples.

The Postgrad Toolbox - University of Southern Queensland. A quick but good overview.

UTS: STAR - a collection of very useful resources on work practices.

Back to top

 Annotated Bibliographies

How to prepare an annotated bibliography - from Cornell University

 

 Essay Guides

 

Guide - History essay writing - University of Newcastle

Guide - from Murdoch University - good clear overall essay guide.

 

 Technical Report Writing

Technical writing - from UNSW a .pdf

Paradigm online writing assistant - good for any type of writing

Back to top